NCFE Awarding Body | Lewis College
Home Study With Tutor Support - The Flexible Way To Learn!

+44 (0) 1803 520304

NCFE Awarding Body

NCFE is a UK awarding body who provide nationally recognised qualifications and awards in vocational skills in the Further Education sector.

NCFE is a registered educational charity and has a strong heritage in learning, going back over 150 years.

They offer over 500 nationally accredited qualifications, from Entry Level up to and including Level 4.  Last year over 340,000 learners from over 2,000 colleges chose NCFE as the Awarding Body.

NCFE is recognised as an Awarding Body by the qualification regulators, the Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator (Ofqual).

NCFE also provide an accreditation service for specialised courses under their Investing in Quality Licence (IIQ) which is designed to give formal recognition to College’s bespoke courses that fall outside ‘regulated provision’.

Lewis Secretarial College is an approved NCFE Investing in Quality (IIQ) Centre (Centre No 8465974).  As part of our approval we are inspected every six months to ensure we provide a quality assurance framework for the development, delivery and evaluation of our courses.  Our last inspection in September 2016 we were awarded “Excellent” for all parts of the inspection.

Our NCFE IIQ accredited courses have their learning outcomes benchmarked at Level 2, Level 3 or Level 4 (using the QCF national framework’s level descriptors) to allow you to consider the difficulty and depth of study for our different courses.  Level 2 is GCSE/Intermediate standard, Level 3 is A Level/Advanced standard and Level 4 is foundation degree standard.

On successful completion you will receive Certificates of Achievement issued by NCFE.  The Certificate of Achievement is not for a nationally regulated qualification.

Our range of NCFE accredited courses include multiple or single Diplomas or Certificates.  For guidance, a single Certificate has a GLH (Guided Learning Hours) in the range of 121-369 hours.  A single Diploma has a GLH of 370 or more. 

The following courses are accredited by NCFE under our IIQ Licence:

  • Executive Assistant Diploma
  • Office Manager Diploma
  • Executive PA Diploma
  • PA Certificate
  • PA Foundation
  • Executive Administrator Diploma
  • Office Administrator Diploma
  • Executive Secretary Diploma
  • Secretary Certificate
  • Medical Secretary Diploma
  • Teeline Shorthand Diploma
  • Professional IT User Diploma
  • Professional Administration Diploma
  • Professional Business Documents Diploma
  • IT for the Office Certificate
  • Administration Certificate
  • Business Documents Certificate

If you would like to read more about NCFE Awarding Body please visit their website